Capital Campaign

Campaign Contributors

(raised as of January 31, 2017)

On behalf of The Board of Directors of Thomas Jefferson’s Poplar Forest, we extend our most sincere appreciation to the following supporters for their generosity. Thank you for your commitment to our goal of creating “A New Path To Jefferson.”

$1,000,000 and Above



Mr. and Mrs. Joseph R. Gladden, Jr.
Dr. and Mrs. T. Joseph Pond
Tobacco Region Revitalization Commission
Mrs. T. Eugene Worrell


Mr. and Mrs. C. L. Christian III


The Beirne Carter Foundation
Mr. and Mrs. Dennis A. Dutterer
Zeb and Jan Gray
Mr. and Mrs. Marvin C. Smith
Mr. and Mrs. W. Kent Van Allen, Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. Cranston Williams, Jr.


The Hon. Gerald L. and Mrs. Robin D. Baliles
Bank of the James
Anne Cox Chambers Foundation
Roberta Collins Crist Fund through M. Clagett Collins, M.D.
The Andrew Horsley Easley and Anne Owen Easley Charitable Trust
Mr. and Mrs. James A. Everett III
Ray Griffin Foundation as directed by Jim and Amy Ray
Mr. and Mrs. Joseph D. Logan III
Mr. Stewart Morris
National Endowment for the Humanities
Lisa and Jerry Simon


Mr. and Mrs. Orran L. Brown
Mr. and Mrs. F. T. Childress
Mr. and Mrs. Robert C. Clark
Becky E. Hash
Richard and Cheryl Hiner in memory of Katharine D. Hiner
Christian S. and Helen C. Hutter in memory of Beverly S. and Frances F. Hutter
Mr. and Mrs. W. Tucker Lemon
Madeline E. Miller and H. Gordon Leggett, Jr.
Russell W. Moore, Jr. and Sandra L. Bouwman
Marietta McNeil Morgan & Samuel Tate Morgan, Jr. Trust
The Roller-Bottimore Foundation
Marc A. Schewel
Vincent Scully and Catherine Lynn
Kathryn and Richard Pumphrey
Phillip C. and Cherrill K. Stone
The Trust Company of Virginia
Mr. and Mrs. Harry J. Warthen III
Mr. and Mrs. James T. Wayt
Three Anonymous


Mr. and Mrs. Bruce C. Gottwald
The Greater Lynchburg Community Trust
Gisela M. John
Stan and Elise Lanford
National Society Daughters of the American Revolution
Mrs. Chiswell D. L. Perkins
Mr. and Mrs. George P. Ramsey, Jr.
Rachel Shenigo
Mr. and Mrs. Francis B. Teague III
Jack and Sandra Thompson
The Virginia Tourism Corporation
Mr. and Mrs. Charles T. Walker
Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth S. White


Fred and Vicky Armstrong
Esther and Rudy Bunzl
Dominion Foundation
Evelyn F. James Foundation
Tom and Anne Jefferson
Robert and Lynn Beebe Lambeth
David and Rosalee McCullough
Helen and Taylor Reveley
Steve and Judy Schulz
Bill and Becky Semones
Paul and Wendy Tackett
Mr. and Mrs. Massie G. Ware, Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. Stephen H. Watts II in honor of James O. Watts, Jr. and Sarah Key Watts and in honor of Courtney Clark,
Gertrude Clark and Alice Carter


Atlanta Preservation Center
Bedford Tourism and Welcome Center
Dick and Elsie Byrne
The Curtis Group, Fundraising Consultants
Discover Lynchburg
Mr. and Mrs. R. Gene Goley
George and Louise Kegley
Calder Loth
Dr. Laura Macaluso and Mr. Jeffrey L. Nichols
Rob and Linda Palmer
Mrs. Charles M. Parker in memory of Charles M. Parker


James A. Clodfelter
Carol T. Cover
Meriwether Godsey
Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Hart, Jr.
Minnie and Bernard Lane Foundation
Mr. and Mrs. Joseph W. Lundell
Mr. and Mrs. Michael J. Madden
McGuireWoods LLP
Hugh C. Miller in memory of Stella H. Miller
Mr. and Mrs. Sydney N. Stokes, Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. Daniel L. Taylor III
Ms. Mary Denny Wray


Joe and Linda Carroll
Dan and Kourtney Coleman
Rodney and Karen Lorence
Mr. and Mrs. G. Andrew Nea, Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. Thomas W. Pettyjohn, Jr.
Alyson and Peter Ramsey
Mike and Elena Rousseau
Rick and Lynne Spies
Kyle Tello in memory of William and Carolyn Barnett
Stormy and Jonathan Wiegand


Joseph and Patricia Bodenstedt
Ian Firth
Samuel Gill
Barry and Bev Hunter
Larson Mick
Elizabeth P. Mossman
Kristen Sihlanick
Susan Sihlanick
Dennis R. and Connie L. Straub
Deborah Tolley
David and Jane Vaughan
Dr. and Mrs. J. Scott Wade
John L. Walker

Below $250

Len and Cyndy Alaimo
Carole and Steven Brown
Phyllis H. Bruce in memory of Rick Bruce
Mary Ann and Paul Burnam
Karen Campbell and Bob Galloway
Kent Campbell
Lester J. and JoEllyn Chadwick
Brian and Judy Clark
Dr. and Mrs. C. Hunter Cloud
Sally R. Coughlin
Mitchell E. Counts
Thomas A. E. Davis
Richard S. Doring
Mr. Terry Eastman and Ms. Victoria L. Diaz-Eastman
W. Vincent Fastabend
Lyle Frederickson
Dr. and Mrs. Charles W. Ford
Richard Lee Francis
Robert and Christine Garsson
Jack Gary
Mrs. Emily Greenwood
Gordon Griffin
Ms. Gladys Hagerty and Mr. William Kelly
Stephanie Hallinan
Hillside Garden Club
Deborah Holloway
Dianne Hylton
Jeffrey L. Jacobs
Herb and Judy Keil
Melora Kordos
Katherine M. Kramer, Education Coordinator
Timothy Kuhn
Randy S. Layman
Karen McIlvoy
Mary Massie
Scott and Patricia Miller
Norwood and Susan Morrison
Dr. Steven Nichols
Suzanne and Dudley Raine
Evans and Sharon Reynolds
Janet and William Rolfe
James W. Rook
Michael Rosenthal
Mr. and Mrs. Robert J. Schaefer
Robert and Margaret Shannon
Michelle Shinn
Mr. and Mrs. Kent A. Smack
Drs. Christine and Stephen Terry
Jeremy Thompson
Jason Tipton
Edward T. Tomlinson
Mr. M. Bradley Tonkin, Jr.
Art and Sue Urbanik
Karen Warren
Peter and MaryJo Warren

The Thomas Jefferson Circle

Poplar Forest is grateful to these new members of our planned giving society, whose commitments were secured during the capital campaign. Thank you for leaving a legacy at Poplar Forest.

Virginia Arnold
Dennis D. Mateski
William L. S. Ross
Phil and Cherrill Stone
Paul and Wendy Tackett
Mr. and Mrs. Massie G. Ware, Jr.

Add your name to our list of Capital Campaign contributors.

Give Now